Trio Aporia

TRIO APORIA was formed by Stephen Preston in 2012 as a crucible for 21st century music making,
drawing on the sonic qualities of wood, metal and gut, and the combined inspiration of three leading performers acclaimed for cutting-edge contemporary and pioneering early music performances:

Stephen Preston –  baroque flute
Jane Chapman    –  harpsichord
Richard Boothby –  viola da gamba

The aim of TRIO APORIA is to develop the contemporary musical potential of their instruments,
through new commissions, electroacoustics, improvisation, and the continued exploration of historical music  –
from the 20th century back to Baroque and beyond.


APORIA = a philosophical instrument of investigation; the impasse that fires the creative imagination; a butterfly genus